I Am Very Regularly Gay

I had quite a pleasant home. I was quite a pleasant child. I had a pleasant voice and a mind worth cultivating. I was gay there and cultivated my mind. I found others who were also cultivating their minds. I found others who were gay and also cultivating and others still who were gay and not cultivating. We were all gay there then and all working then there.

After years, I did not find it very regularly gay the place where I had been gay regularly. I did not find many others who were gay. I did not find many others with minds worth cultivating. I was regularly gay where I had been working and cultivating. I was regularly gay every day. I wished to find others who were regularly gay. I wished to find others who were gay and working and cultivating. I did not find many others who were gay.

I traveled to another place and was gay there. I was very regularly gay there where I was gay and was gay very regularly. I found others who were also cultivating their minds. I found others who were regularly gay. I sat with them regularly. I often sat with those who were gay. I often sat with those who were regularly gay. They regularly sat with me often in the new place that I was gay and cultivating. Others who were gay had minds worth cultivating. Others who were gay did not have minds at all. I regularly sat with others who were pleasant. I regularly sat with others who were not pleasant. Those who were pleasant and those who were not pleasant regularly sat with me.

Today I have a pleasant mind that I have cultivated. I am very regularly gay in the same place that I have been regularly gay. I have found others who are regularly gay. I have found others that I am regularly gay with. Those who I am regularly gay with are very pleasant with minds they have cultivated. I still find others who are gay who are not pleasant. I do not sit with them anymore.

This was simply a poetic rendition of my experiences through the style of Gertrude Stein. Given that the Oxford English Dictionary defines “gay” as being “bright or lively,” while to others it means “homosexual,” there is a duality in Ms. Stein’s work.

So do/did you ever find yourself being “regularly gay?” When and where?

As for the literary side of things, what purpose do you think Stein’s extensive use of repeated words and phrases was meant to do? Would “Miss Furr and Miss Skeene” be altogether a different story without it? Why/Why not?

 

Image result for gertrude stein

 

Leave a Reply

